Literal Scum

So this political sex scandal got my blood boiling…alot. Scott DesJarlais, a pro-family Tennessee congressman was put on the spotlight after a phone call transcript was released between him and a patient in 2012. DesJarlais is a physician and this phone call wasn’t just a casual talk with a patient…he was having an affair with the woman. DesJarlais, trying to reconcile things with his wife who had filed for divorce a few years back, had urged his patient-mistress to have an abortion. Okay my blood is boiling again. The full transcript of the phone call can be found here but I want to give some highlights. DesJarlais said, “You told me you’d have an abortiowww702n, and now we’re getting too far along without one. If we need to go to Atlanta, or whatever, to get this solved and get it over with so we can get on with our lives, then let’s do it.” He also shoves the blame onto the woman saying, “You lied to me about something that caused us to be in this situation, and that’s not my fault, that’s yours.” ….I have steam coming out of my ears. This is a man whom according to his political website stands by the words, “All life should be cherished and protected. We are pro-life.” According to Huffington Post, he also approved of his wife having two abortions and that he also had sex with two other patients. But the real question here – what did this do to his political career? He is still a congressman. He got re-elected. Feel free to rage with me here.

Leave a comment